Kerala film Awards 2021: ‘Avasa Vyooham’ is Best Film; Biju, Joju, Revathi best actors (Winners List) – UKMALAYALEE

Kerala film Awards 2021: ‘Avasa Vyooham’ is Best Film; Biju, Joju, Revathi best actors (Winners List)

Saturday 28 May 2022 8:45 AM UTC

By A Staff Reporter

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM May 28: Biju Menon (‘Arkkariyam’) and Joju George (four movies) bagged the 52nd Kerala State Film Award for the best actor. Revathi (Bhoothakalam) was selected as the best actress.

‘Avasa Vyooham’ by Krishand won the prize for best film and Dileesh Pothan won the best director prize for the film ‘Joju’.

Kerala’s Minister for Cultural, Fisheries and Youth Affairs Saji Cherian announced the winners of the Kerala State Film Awards on Friday. The jury for the 52nd edition of the awards was headed by filmmaker-screenwriter Saeed Akhtar Mirsa.

52nd Kerala State Film Awards: The complete winners list

Best Film – Avasavyuham

According to Cinestan, framed as a mockumentary, Aavasa Vyuham documents the socio-political and geopolitical reality of a place called Puthuvype, which is part of a beautiful isle that also has large mangrove forests. This particular locale is ingrained in the public consciousness of the people of Kerala due to the ongoing protests of its inhabitants against the installation of an Indian Oil Corporation LPG terminal. Aavasa Vyuham is a must watch on the big screen in order to get the complete experience of the movie. Having premiered at the 26th International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) and bagged the FIPRESCI and NETPAC Awards for Best Malayalam Film, the movie is a surreal and fantastical tale of human-nature relationships.

Second Best Film – Nishiddho and Chavittu

Best Actor – Biju Menon for Aarkkariyam and Joju George for Madhuram, Freedom Fight, Thuramukham and Naayaattu

Best Actress – Revathy for Bhoothakaalam

Best Director – Dileesh Pothan for Joji

Best Character Actor – Sumesh Moor for Kala

Best Character Actress – Unnimaya Prasad for Joji

Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value – Hridhyam

Best Children’s Film – Kaadakalam

Best Story Writer – Shahi Kabeer for Nayattu

Best Screenplay Writer – Krishand RK for Avasavyuham

Best Screenplay (Adapted) – Joji, Syam Pushkaran

Best Children’s Film – Kaadakalam

Best Child Artist (Male) – Master Adithyan for Niraye Thathakalulla Maram

Best Child Artist (Female) – Sneha Anu for Thala

Best Music Director (Songs) – Hesham Abdul Wahab for Hridayam

Best Male Singer – Pradeep Kumar, Minnal Murali

Best Female Singer – Sithara Krishnakumar, Kaanekkaane

Best Music Director (Background Score) – Justin Varghese for Joji

Best Lyricist – B K Harinarayanan, Kaadakalam

Best Film Editor – Mahesh Narayanan and Rajesh Rajendran for Naayaattu

Best Cinematographer – Madhu Neelakandan for Churuli

Best Sound Design – Renganath Ravee for Churli

Best Sound Mixing – Justin Jose for Minnal Murali

Best Sync Sound – Arun Ashok and Sonu K P for Chavittu

Best Choreographer – Arun Lal for Chavittu

Best Dubbing Artist (Female) – Devi S

Best Makeup Artist – Ranjith Ambady for Aarkkariyam

Best Costume Designer – Melwy J for Minnal Murali

Best Art Director – A V Gokuldas for Thuramukham

Best Visual Effects – Andrew D’crus for Minnal Murali

Best Colorist – Liju Prabhakar for Churuli

Special Jury mention – Jeo Baby for Freedom Fight

Special Jury Award – Sherry Govindan for Avanovilona

A Special Award for the Promising Debut in Direction – Krishnendu Kalesh for Prappeda

Special Award in Any Category for Women/Transgender – Negha S for Antharam