Kollam MP Premachandran only Malayalee MP to win Parliamentarian Award  – UKMALAYALEE

Kollam MP Premachandran only Malayalee MP to win Parliamentarian Award 

Friday 25 January 2019 12:52 AM UTC

New Delhi Jan 25: RSP leader and Lok Sabha MP N.K. Premachandran has won the Fame India Best Parliamentarian Award jointly conducted by Fame India and survey  survey agency Asia Post.

Premachandran won the award for his contribution for strengthening the parliamentary democracy, intervention in social issues, participation in discussions held in LS, questions prioritizing public interests, bringing in private bills for upholding democratic values, development works in their constituencies and others were considered by the selection panel.

As many as 11 Parliamentarians from various political parties, were honoured for their outstanding performance in the 16th Lok Sabha by Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit at a function here Saturday.

Biju Janata Dal MP from Cuttack (Odisha), Bhartruhari Mahtab was honoured for his performance in initiating debates while BJP MP from Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh, Anurag Singh Thakur received Jury Committee Special award in the Lok Sabha for his distinguished performance.

Parliamentarians of various parties were present at the 10th edition of Sansad Ratna Awards ceremony organised by city-based Prime Point Foundation to honour them for initiating debates, raising questions and attendance among others.

Former union minister and chairman of standing committee on finance, M Veerappa Moily and his team were selected for outstanding performance among the Parliamentary Standing Committees.

RSP (Revolutionary Socialist Party) MP from Kollam, Kerala, N K Premachandran, was selected for his performance in initiating debates, while National Congress Party MP from Baramati (Maharashtra) Supriya Sule, who is also the daughter of former Union Minister Sharad Pawar, was honoured in overall tally, questions and women MPs categories.

BJP MP from Godda, Jharkhand, Nishikant Dubey was awarded for his outstanding performance in private member bills and Indian National Congress, Hingoli, Maharashtra and first time MP, Rajeev Shankarrrao Satav was chosen for his outstanding performance among the first-time parliamentarians.

Shiv Sena MP from Maval, Maharashtra, Shrirang Appa Barne was selected for his outstanding performance while NCP MP from Kolhapur, Dhananjay Bhimrao Mahadik was selected for his performance under questions and overall tally category.

The youngest Parliamentarian, 31-year old Heena Vijaykumar Gavit of BJP, who raised 1,059 questions in the Lok Sabha and holds an attendance of 82 per cent was selected for her outstanding performance.

Indian National Congress, MP from Maharashtra, Rajani Patil was selected as the topper in overall tally among the retirees of Rajya Sabha while Ananda Bhaskar Rapolu, Congress MP from Telangana was selected for debates among the retirees of the upper House.

Speaking after presenting the awards, Purohit urged the MPs to make use of technology for the welfare of the people in their respective constituencies.

“I am sure the Honourable Members are aware of the positive role that technology plays in various spheres of life. I would suggest to the Honourable Members to make use of technology for the welfare of the people…,” he added.

Noting that social media cannot be downplayed as it had greater reach among the youth and urban population, he said, “most of the members are making use of the social media to their advantage.

Yet again, I urge them to use this platform for the betterment of their constituencies.” Holding that government plays a vital role in preparing legislations, he said, “yet the role played by the members of Parliament is also important.” “Right from the time of our independence, innumerable legislations have been passed.

Some of our important legislations have been initiated by private members also. One can recall the Lokpal bill, the Freedom of Information Bill…,” he added.