Indian team for ICC World Cup 2019 announced – UKMALAYALEE

Indian team for ICC World Cup 2019 announced

Monday 15 April 2019 9:53 PM UTC

MUMBAI April 16: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the main cricket governing body in India has announced the squad for the upcoming World Cup 2019.

Rishabh Pant and Ambati rayudu have not managed to make it to the 15-member squad. Vijay Shankar has been named as the second all-rounder in the squad along with Hardik Pandeya. Seven players who were there in the 2015 world cup squad have managed to make it to the 2019 team.

Prithvi Shaw has also missed the spot despite promising performance in the home season earlier this year. India has included only three full-time fast bowlers in the squad. Two-full time spinners, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have been included in the playing 11.

The BCCI in its press conference said that they have picket up the most balanced team for the upcoming world cup.

The decision to select the 15-member squad is made following a BCCI meeting led by MSK Prasad, chief coach Ravi Shastri and captain Virat Kohli.

The decision has been made public in a press conference by BCCI acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary in Mumbai.

The Cricket World Cup will be held in England and Wales from May 30-July 14.

Australia won the Cricket World Cup 2015 against New Zealand by 7 wickets.

Here’s the Indian cricket team for the ICC World Cup 2019:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MSD (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd Shami

Rishabh Pant has been left out of the squad and Dinesh Kartik has been included as the second wicket keeper. The selectors said that wicket keeping is an important component and in an extreme case where either Rishabh Pant or Dinesh Kartik are to be included in the playing 11 in absence of MS Dhoni, we would like Dinesh Kartik to play.

India will begin its campaign on 5 June 2019 against South Africa. It will play Australia on 9 June followed by New Zealand on 13 June and Pakistan on 16 June.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.