ICC T20 World Cup: England in group with India and South Africa – UKMALAYALEE

ICC T20 World Cup: England in group with India and South Africa

Wednesday 30 January 2019 2:32 AM UTC

SYDNEY Jan 30: England will face India, South Africa and Afghanistan in the group stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia next year.

Eoin Morgan’s side, who were beaten finalists in the 2016 event, will begin their campaign at the new Perth Stadium on October 26 against one of the two qualifiers who will make up Group 2, potentially Bangladesh or Sri Lanka.

They will then travel to Sydney to play South Africa at the SCG four days later before a clash with world No 2-ranked India at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 1.

Afghanistan await in Brisbane on November 4 before England finish the Super 12 phase at the Adelaide Oval against the second of the two qualifiers.

The first round of the tournament begins on October 18 in which eight teams, including Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, split into two groups, will compete for the final four spots in the Super 12s.

Australia then take on world No 1 side Pakistan on October 24 in the first Super 12 fixture, with reigning champions Windies also in Group 1.

The top two from each Super 12 group will progress to the semi-finals, the first of which will take place in Sydney on November 11 with the second in Adelaide the following day.

The MCG will host the final on November 15.

First round Group A: Sri Lanka plus three qualifiers

First round Group B: Bangladesh plus three qualifiers

Group 1: Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, Windies, Group A team 1, Group B team 2

Group 2: India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, Group B team 1, Group A team 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.