Complete shutdown in hotspots, state to be divided into four zones – UKMALAYALEE

Complete shutdown in hotspots, state to be divided into four zones

Friday 17 April 2020 5:23 AM UTC

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM April 17: Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Thursday said that the state will be divided into four zones based on the number of active coronavirus cases.

While adding that restrictions and relaxations will be allowed zone-wise, he added that the plan will be soon presented to the Union government for approval.

The first zone consisting of Kasargod, Kannur, Kozhikode and Malappuram, will witness strict restrictions till May 3. Hotspots within these districts will be completely shut down till the nationwide lockdown is lifted, the CM said.

The second zone which consists of Pathanamthitta, Ernakulam and Kollam districts will experience strict restrictions till April 24. Certain relaxations might be provided to this zone after evaluating the situation after April 24.

The third zone comprises Alappuzha, Thiruvananthapuram, Palakkad, Thrissur and Wayanad where partial normal life will be permitted. Hotels and restaurants will be allowed to function till evening 7.

Kottayam and Idukki, which do not have any active cases at present, come under the fourth zone. Though normal life will be permitted in these districts, special care must be taken as Idukki shares its border with Tamil Nadu.

Travel outside the districts will not be permitted and all safety measures including social distancing must be strictly followed. The chief minister added that the hotspots within each zone will be identified and will be completely shut down.