C. Divakaran to contest against Tharoor in Thiruvananthapuram – UKMALAYALEE

C. Divakaran to contest against Tharoor in Thiruvananthapuram

Tuesday 5 March 2019 4:17 AM UTC

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM March 4: C Divakaran, sitting MLA and the former minister will contest from Thiruvananthapuram constituency as CPI candidate. The CPI on Monday has finalized the list of candidates from Kerala for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

An official announcement will be made on March 7 in New Delhi by the central committee. From the other four CPI seats, Chittayam Gopakumar is likely to contest from Mavelikara constituency.

According to sources, Rajaji Mathew Thomas will contest the Lok Sabha elections from the party’s sitting seat, Thrissur. PP Suneer is likely to be the contestant from Wayanad constituency.

Most likely, the Congress will be fielding its sitting MP Shashi Tharoor from the state capital, who won in the last two elections. In 2014, the CPI slipped to an embarrassing third position following allegations of payment seat to Benett Abraham.

Kanam Rajendran, the CPI state secretary, whose name was popular in the candidate discussions said that he doesn’t want to get into Parliamentary politics. Divakaran’s candidacy was unanimously agreed by everyone in the executive committee.