South Indian community in Newham to hold protests meet against Labour Party in East Ham for not offering a representation in council polls – UKMALAYALEE

South Indian community in Newham to hold protests meet against Labour Party in East Ham for not offering a representation in council polls

Wednesday 27 April 2022 7:42 PM UTC

By A Staff Reporter

EAST HAM (Newham) April 27: The Labour Party in Newham has ignored the south Indian community by not giving a single councillor seat to anyone from these communities in the local government and Mayoral elections scheduled to take place on 5th May 2022.

The south Indian Community comprise of Tamils, Malayalees, Andhra, Telugu, Kannada who have played a very active role in Labour Party politics in Newham in the last decade.

The avoidance is alarming because there is around 20,000 Labour Party supporters from within the south Indian community in Newham and they are a force to reckon with when it comes to swaying votes.

A protest meeting is planned to be held on Thursday, 28th April from 6.30pm at the The Trinity Centre, East Avenue, Manor Park, London E12 6 SG.

Those interested can attend the meet and discuss the matter before the election, said a note from the organiser.

For further details please contact the organiser C.Murugesan on 07459217977

The 2022 Newham London Borough Council election is due to take place on 5 May 2022. All 66 members of Newham London Borough Council will be elected. The elections will take place alongside local elections in the other London boroughs and elections to local authorities across the United Kingdom.

In the previous election in 2018, the Labour Party maintained its control of the council, winning all 60 seats. The 2022 election will take place under new election boundaries, which will increase the number of councillors to 66. The election will coincide with an election for the mayor of Newham after a governance referendum resulted in the borough keeping a directly elected mayor.

Newham has been under Labour control since its creation, besides a period of no overall control from 1968–1971. In the most recent election in 2018, Labour won all sixty seats with 67.2% of the vote across the borough. The Conservative Party received 15.2% of the vote, the Liberal Democrats received 5.9% of the vote and the Green Party of England and Wales received 5.2% of the vote but none of these won any seats. The Labour candidate Rokhsana Fiaz became mayor of Newham in the concurrent mayoral election, succeeding Robin Wales with 73.4% of the vote in the first round.

The thirty-two London boroughs were established in 1965 by the London Government Act 1963. They are the principal authorities in Greater London and have responsibilities including education, housing, planning, highways, social services, libraries, recreation, waste, environmental health and revenue collection. Some of the powers are shared with the Greater London Authority, which also manages passenger transport, police and fire.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.