UKMCL Awards Night on Sat Jan 21: Dont miss this evening with music and dance in Ilford: Reserve your seats – UKMALAYALEE

UKMCL Awards Night on Sat Jan 21: Dont miss this evening with music and dance in Ilford: Reserve your seats

Wednesday 18 January 2023 12:37 PM UTC

The event will host Gokul Harshan who will regale audience with semi-classicals and Bollywood dances by Arathy S Nair, Anjali Nair and Krishna Preethy and Live DJ.

By A Staff Reporter

LONDON Jan 18: The UK Malayalee Cricket League, the first exclusive Malayalee cricket league in Europe, will host their annual awards night on Saturday 21st January 2023 from 5pm at the Ford Sports & Social Club, Newbury Park. Aldborough Road South, Newbury Park, Ilford, IG3 8HG.

The celebrations are the culmination of a successfull cricketing season in the summer of 2022. UKMCL will be celebrating the talent, commitment and cooperation from their players, sponsors and well-wishers alike. UKMCL moves into the 2023 season with more vigour with participation from several major teams from London and Kent.

Excitement is often the word coined with UKMCL, the 2022 season was no exception. Two new teams performed exceptionally well in their inaugural season. Three Caps CC enthralled supporters to become UKMCL League and League-Cup Winners while HMCC brought their A game to the UKMCL T20 competition to get their name on the Trophy.

The celebration will bring together the Keralite community who are passionate about their most favourite sports in the UK. UKMCL has in the last decade become a way to provide a social platform for incoming youngsters to integrate and become part of one exclusive UK Malayalee Cricket fraternity.

Alongside the winning teams UKMCL have prepared a host of performance awards, a full list of winners can be found at the end of this report. The hosts have asked the attendees to bring your dance shoes to dine with entertainments, fun and camarederie.

This year’s event will include a three-course meal, Live entertainment with playback singer Gokul Harshan, Semi-classical and Bollywood dance artistes (Arathy S Nair, Anjali Nair and Krishna Preethy) and Live DJ.

It is a first come first serve basis and therefore reserve your tickets in advance by making contacts with the below. Entry is by tickets – £15 for adults and £10 for students. For ticket details please contact Raji Gangadharan on 07760268933 or Mishal Francis on 07888761754.

Special Recognition

Nawaz Rawther​ will receive the Special Award for Outstanding contributions to community cricket.

“Amongst the many, some individuals have supported the league and the community in all forms of the game for over 35 years. UKMCL is honouring ex-Chairman Nawaz Rawther for his outstanding contributions to community cricket in London. Nawaz started playing community cricket in east London in the late 80s.

“Nawaz continued his playing career captaining Global CC and plied his trade as an apt bowler and shrewd captaincy. Nawaz continued supporting local cricket beyond his playing years and was a very capable UKMCL board member. Nawaz went on to become chairman, his tenure has seen the League flourish and his contribution has been a big part of UKMCL success”, said a note from the League.

“UKMCL’s continued success is a testimony to the collaborative effort of the organisers, players, well- wishers and sponsors. This year, UKMCL have had continued support from sponsors who also share and recognise the passion for community cricket development. We are very proud to be supported by the following partners”, added the note.


Global Study Link –, Thattukada Restuarant –, Udaya Restaurant –, Neil Travels, J P R Sutra Sports Ltd, Deshadan Resorts, Aswathy Restaurant Croydon, Bestway London, 505 Community Centre, UK Malayalee News Portal-

UKMCL 19th Award Night – Trophy listing

League Winners​ Three Caps CC

League Runners-up ​ ​Hornbills CC

League Cup Winners​ ​Three Caps CC

League Cup Runners-up ​Hornbill CC

T20 Winners ​ ​​HMCC

T20 Runners-up ​ ​Phoenix CC

Best Players – 2022

Bowler of the year Aneesh Mohanan (Hornbills CC)​, Batsman of the year Izhar Ahmad (Hornbills CC), All-rounder of the year Ananthapadmanabhan Kizhakkemaliyeckal (EMCC)

UKMCL – Team of 2022

Izhar Ahmad, Aneesh Mohanan, Vinod Kumar V, Tariq Khan, Gino John, Shiju Mariamma, Mishal Francis, Ananthapadmanabhan Kizhakkemaliyeckal, Sanu Salim, Sarabijit Singh, Karthik Venugopalan

Best T20 Players – 2022

T20 Bowler of the year Deepak Mohan (Global)​

T20 Batsman of the year Aseem Ongallur (Global)

T20 All-rounder of the year Rejith Rajan (HMCC)

UKMCL T20 – Team of 2022

Deepak Mohan, Rejith Rajan, Sarakth KS, Shiju Mariamma, Binulal Girilal, Ananthapadmanabhan Kizhakkemaliyeckal, Sarabijit Singh, Aseem Ongallur, Robin Gomez, Sachin Angajan, Mishal Francis

UKMCL vs LSL, Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Event Winners


Raji Gangadharan, Mishal Francis, Akhil Mohanan, Aneesh Mohanan, Shahid BS, Muhammed Udinoor, Prince M Ummachan, Haneesh Sree Harshan, Shiju Mariyamma, Rahees Parathodi, Arun Thripunithara

Those who wish to know more about or be part of the League contact

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.