RRR’s Naatu Naatu and The Elephant Whisperers documentary Wins Oscar for India (List of Winners) – UKMALAYALEE

RRR’s Naatu Naatu and The Elephant Whisperers documentary Wins Oscar for India (List of Winners)

Monday 13 March 2023 7:08 AM UTC

LONDON March 13: It was a big night for India as the country bagged its first Oscar of 2023 by winning Best Documentary Short Film for ‘The Elephant Whisperers’ and ‘RRR’ made the country proud by taking home the Best Music (Original Song) for ‘Naatu Naatu’.

The insanely viral track is from Telugu blockbuster RRR, directed by SS Rajamouli and featuring actors Ram Charan and Jr NTR, all of whom attended the Academy Awards. Deepika Padukone, the third Indian to attend as a presenter after Persis Khambatta and Priyanka Chopra, introduced the performance.

It was the second win for an Indian film – The Elephant Whisperers won Best Documentary Short Subject. The documentary tells the story of an indigenous couple named Bomman and Bellie as they care for an orphaned baby elephant.

The film explores the precious bond between the animal and his caretakers.

The Elephant Whisperers is the first Indian film to win an Oscar in this category.

It was a big night for ‘Everything Everywhere All At Once’ as it pretty much bagged every award it was nominated for at the prestigious ceremony. The film, which shows a Chinese immigrant get caught up in an epic adventure where she must connect different versions of herself in the parallel universe from the evil person who wants to harm the multiverse, took home around seven Oscars!

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Best Animated Feature Film
Guillermo del Toro’s ‘Pinocchio’

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Jamie Lee Curtis in ‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Ke Huy Quan in ‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’

Best Documentary Feature Film
‘Navalny’ by Daniel Roher, Odessa Rae, Diane Becker, Melanie Miller and Shane Boris

Best Live Action Short Film
‘An Irish Goodbye’ by Tom Berkeley and Ross White

Best Cinematography
‘All Quiet on the Western Front’ by James Friend

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
Adrien Morot, Judy Chin and Annemarie Bradley for ‘The Whale’

Best Costume Design
Ruth Carter for ‘Black Panther: Wakanda Forever’

Best Animated Short Film
‘The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse’

Best International Feature Film
‘All Quiet on the Western Front’ – Germany

Best Documentary Short Film
‘The Elephant Whisperers’ by Kartiki Gonsalves and Guneet Monga

Best Production Design
‘All Quiet on the Western Front’

Best Music (Original Score)
Volker Bertelmann for ‘All Quiet on the Western Front’

Best Visual Effects
‘Avatar: The Way of Water’

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)
‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ – written by Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert

Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
‘Women Talking’ – screenplay by Sarah Polley

Best Music (Original Song)
‘Naatu Naatu’ from RRR: Music by M.M. Keeravaani; Lyric by Chandrabose

Best Sound
‘Top Gun: Maverick’: Mark Weingarten, James H. Mather, Al Nelson, Chris Burdon and Mark Taylor

Best Film Editing
‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ – Paul Rogers

Best Directing
Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert for ‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Brendan Fraser in ‘The Whale’

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Michelle Yeoh in ‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’

Best Picture
‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert and Jonathan Wang, Producers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.