ukmalayaleeBack to Movie News

Yesudas, Jayaraj, Nikhil receive National award ceremony

NEW DELHI May 4: When a majority of national film awards recipients boycotted the award ceremony held on Thursday evening, singer Yesudas, film director Jayaraj and cinematographer Nikhil S Praveen received the awards.
While Yesudas received the award of the President of India, the other two persons received the award from Union Minister Smriti Irani.
Eighty winners including those from Kerala boycotted the award ceremony as the Centre was not ready to slacken its stand that President Ram Nath Kovind would be presenting only 11 awards, a departure from established tradition.
It was also announced that rest of the awards would be presented by Information and Broadcasting Minister Smriti Irani.
Jayaraj and Yesudas said that they had signed a memorandum in protest against discrimination shown in the distribution of awards. Both said they totally agreed to the submission of memorandum.
Among the 80 boycotters, there are Fahadh Faasil and Parvathy. Fahadh left Delhi while the award ceremony was going on. Dubbing artiste Bhagyalakshmi said that there is no change in their stand to boycott the function.
“If we allow this to happen, it will become a custom in coming years. We don’t wish for this. What is being received from the President is the nation’s honour and it is not a minister who should do this,” she said.