India squad for Sri Lanka tour: Rohit Sharma makes comeback to Virat Kohli’s squad

Mumbai July 10: Star batsman Rohit Sharma has been called back to the Team India squad for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced, on Sunday.
Apart from Rohit Sharma, a number of other Test regulars like Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Wriddhiman Saha and Ishant Sharma also returned to the side.
Meanwhile, Ajinkya Rahane is set to play the role of Kohli’s deputy yet again, after stepping in for the injured skipper in India’s fifth and deciding Test against Australia, clinching the series 2-1, earlier this year.
India, who are currently in the West Indies, playing their last match on the tour, a one-off T20I against the hosts, are set to play a three-match Test series in Sri Lanka, beginning on July 26.
The Test series will be followed by five-match ODI series, beginning August 20, followed by a one-off T20I on September 6.
India’s squad for Sri Lanka Tests: Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.