Samson picked for India A after passing Yo-Yo test

MUMBAI July 24: Sanju Samson has returned to the India A squad for the quadrangular series at home, after missing the tour of England because of fitness concerns.
Samson was withdrawn from the England touring party two days prior to departure because of a failed Yo-Yo test, which the Indian team management has adopted as a benchmark towards fitness.
Samson, whose reading was well below the prescribed 16:1 mark, was replaced by Ishan Kishan. While Samson will keep for India A, Kishan has now been named wicketkeeper for India B.
Meanwhile, Shreyas Iyer will lead the India A squad for the two four-day games against South Africa A in the first half of August. Both matches will take place in Bengaluru, and will be preceded by a three-day practice game in the city.
Iyer will also lead India Ain the quadrangular series that will follow, with Manish Pandey named captain of India B. In the quadrangular series that will run from August 17 to 29 in Vijayawada, India A and India B will be joined by South Africa A and Australia A.
These will be followed by four-day games against Australia A, with the BCCI saying that the squad for those games would be picked at a later date.
In parallel, the Duleep Trophy will kick off India's domestic season, also on August 17, with India Blue, India Red and India Green competing. Faiz Fazal will lead Blue, with Abhinav Mukund and Parthiv Patel named captains of Red and Green respectively.
Given that the Duleep Trophy will run till September 8, there is no overlap of players between the quadrangular one-day tournament and the Duleep Trophy, and it looks likely that the players picked to face Australia A will also be picked from among those not playing in the Duleep Trophy but part of the quadrangular series.
Prithvi Shaw and Yuzvendra Chahal are also part of the squad for the four-day matches against South Africa A. Axar Patel, who will be in the squad for the first game, will be replaced by Shahbaz Nadeem for the second.
The two Indian sides for the quadrangular series have a mix of players who have been regulars among the rung below the national team with those who caught the eye during IPL 2018, and include Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Nitish Rana, Sanju Samson, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar and Shivam Mavi in India A; with Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Vijay Shankar, Ishan Kishan, Jayant Yadav, Siddarth Kaul and Prasidh Krishna in India B.